Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 30 of 30

Thread: iPod cable issue

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Perth, WA
    Posts
    223
    Users Country Flag Thread Starter

    So I changed the auxiliary level from medium to low and attached the iPod but no go. Then I switched to FM and back to MEDIA and hey presto the head unit showed the track details and the iPod screen displayed 'connected accessories' (or something like that). I can hear the audio perfectly well and control the play from the car.
    Thanks for everyone's help.

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    3,775
    No worries. I know that I've set mine to High ages ago when I first got the car and once had issues when a passenger connected their iPod (I'm an IT guy and somewhat anti-Apple). After reading that suggestion months ago I've still never got around to making that adjustment and trying it out

  3. #23
    AdamD's Avatar
    AdamD is offline Super Moderator VWwA Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Adelaide, SA
    Posts
    2,759
    The MDI aux in input level always seems to do the trick eventually.

    And for others who are reading this - just because your sound may works via USB cable/thumb drive doesn't mean it'll work via an apple device. So be sure to check this setting if connecting an iPod, and try switching your head unit off and back on after making the change.
    2010 MkVI Volkswagen Golf GTI
    Ordered: 2015 8V Audi S3 Sedan

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    3,775
    Do you have MDI and AUX Adam?

    I just borrowed an old iPod which worked fine with the input volume setting set to low, but ever since I've retrofitted the MDI my AUX has stopped working. I've even purchased the MDI to 3.5mm AUX adapter but that doesn't work either. Must be either a coding or wiring issue. Do you have any VCDS settings that I could perhaps look at? Feel free to PM instead.

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Sydney/Canberra
    Posts
    2,714
    Users Country Flag
    I believe it's a wiring issue.

    If memory serves me correct, the MDI and AUX require the same pin-outs at the back of the radio.
    Wrecking: '97 Golf 3 CL 1.8L - still have motor, panels, and electrics!

    Log-book Servicing / DSG Servicing / Haldex Servicing / Fault Code Diagnosis / Timing Belt Replacements / Mobile Workshop

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    3,775
    Yeah, I thought they use the same as well, but I figured that the MDI-3.5mm cable should still work since the USB and iPod work. So perhaps a coding change is needed for that bit.


  7. #27
    AdamD's Avatar
    AdamD is offline Super Moderator VWwA Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Adelaide, SA
    Posts
    2,759
    Quote Originally Posted by Ryan_R View Post
    Do you have MDI and AUX Adam?
    Sorry, my bad with the terminology here.

    Yes, I have MDI and the standard 3.5mm aux jack (which comes on every Golf AFAIK), but I've never tested the 3.5mm. Just to clarify, I was referring earlier to the MDI input level that you can adjust via the head unit, that affects the MDI input from Apple devices.
    2010 MkVI Volkswagen Golf GTI
    Ordered: 2015 8V Audi S3 Sedan

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    3,775
    Does it actually say MDI Level in your setup screen? Mine only says AUX input level, which when changed to Low enabled the iPhone to sound correct via MDI. All Golf's do in fact have an AUX-In jack and mine did work prior to my installing the MDI. I guess with 2 piggy-back harnesses going to the quadlock connector (MDI + Bluetooth) I guess something was bound to go wrong. Maybe I should order a new 9W7 to replace the 9W3 so that I have more motivation to pull out the HU again.

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Perth, WA
    Posts
    223
    Users Country Flag Thread Starter
    I have to say how impressed I am with the standard head unit in my 2010 GTI. A league above the one in my WRX hatch. It's great to be able to see more than 12 letters of the mp3 metadata, navigate through folders, track through the radio frequencies without having to switch from auto seek to manual and that beautiful touch screen!

  10. #30
    AdamD's Avatar
    AdamD is offline Super Moderator VWwA Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Adelaide, SA
    Posts
    2,759

    Quote Originally Posted by Ryan_R View Post
    Does it actually say MDI Level in your setup screen? Mine only says AUX input level, which when changed to Low enabled the iPhone to sound correct via MDI.
    Hmm, good question. I'll check and let you know, but chances are it says the same thing yours does, and my memory is faulty.
    2010 MkVI Volkswagen Golf GTI
    Ordered: 2015 8V Audi S3 Sedan

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
| |