Support VWWC

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: POLO GTI Engine Oil Change Question

POLO GTI Engine Oil Change Question

Hi everybody, after a 14-month loooooong waiting period, my POLO GTI is finally there. Just picked it up from the dealer yesterday.

I read the following two articles, which both recommend an early oil change around 50km mark. I want the absolute best performance out of my car, so I decided to go ahead and book an appointment with my dealer to get the oil changed.

New Car Care – How to Take Care of a New Car - Popular Mechanics
    Break In Secrets--How To Break In New Motorcycle and Car Engines For More Power

However, when I rang up the dealer, the dealer told me that I was wasting my money by changing the oil so early. Plus the oil put in by VW during manufacturing is somehow different from the ones on the market.

I am a total newbie in terms of handling new car. Never had a new car before. I will be very much appreciated if you could share your experience regarding break-in a car. Specifically, do I need to change the oil so early? And if I do need change, what kind/brand of oil is recommended? Thank you in advance. Any help will be appreciated.

Users Country Flag
    Polo GTIs have been known to have oil consumption issues in the past. This may not be the case with the current batch of cars coming through. The engine has been revised on these.

As always, it's best to stick with the manufacturer's recommendations in regards to servicing. Afterall, it's their warranty.
    '07 Transporter 1.9 TDI
    '01 Beetle 2.0

Yes, I am aware of the high oil consumption issue of this model. I was warned by the dealer yesterday to closely monitor the oil level in the first 6000km. If it goes low, bring the car back to them and they will top it up. Finger crossed.

Quote Originally Posted by key View Post